Setting up dedicated lan server for Windows (Help)

1. 6 years ago

I am kind of new to Arma 3 and Alive is something that I really want to try out but I am new to modding as well and having a lot of trouble setting up a server. I followed the instructions from the Alive Wiki all the way to the step of setting up the server on War room but I honestly just don't understand the instructions enough to do what it is asking me. I am wanting to use TADST to set up the server I am just kind of confused in the order in which I should do things so just let me recap what I have done so far.

1. I installed Alive and put the @Alive and @aliveserver into my arma 3 root directory
    2. I installed TADST and put it in my root directory as well
    3. I went through all the steps setting up a static IP address and opening ports etc.
    4. I created and account on war room and followed the instructions to the point at which I am now which is the page where it gives you instructions to set up the server and installation instruction.

I don't know what it means by i need C++ installed on my server and I also don't know what it means when it says---Download the @ALiVEServer addon and extract the folder into the Dedicated Server Arma 3 root folder. Add @ALiVEServer to your mod line on your dedicated server.

I have tried to understand it but I just can't, I've searched and searched and everything is either outdated, or just too difficult for me to understand. I really don't want to mess it up to a point I have to start over, so if possible, can someone walk me through the rest of the process, I know it is a heavy request but any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Running Windows 10 btw just incase this is relevant information.

2. Hi there! I know the language in the tutorial guide is probably more complicated than needed.