Occupation vs Occupation mission making advice

1. 7 years ago
    Edited 7 years ago by HeroesandvillainsOS

I'm just wondering how you guys go about fine-tuning this kind of conventional battle. I've spent a ton of time making Asymmetric Insurgency stuff but I'm relatively new to full map commander vs commander battles and having a hard time balancing them.

The last few nights I've been trying to finish up one on Diyala. It's basically full-map warfare, aside from not allowing the enemy side to spawn around my bases, and my side not spawning in one large enemy held city. But otherwise, the entire map is allowed to be fought over. What I'm finding is, about 50% of the time, both sides are replenishing BCR's! I've tested this over 3 one-hour sessions, and around 30 minutes each time are spent with a relatively empty map, with BRC's being replenished and then waiting for the next OPCOM cycle.

The mission is roughly 60 OPFOR vs 50 BLUFOR (I'd go higher which does help but Diyala is a little FPS hungry when I push it further). Both are set to Occupation. OPFOR gets tiny objects and above, while BLUFOR gets small objectives and above to keep the human players more active and not constantly interfered with by friendly AI killing all the enemies (I prefer to ask for their help when I need it).

The virtual battles just seem to happen so fast that I don't think it would be possible to scout or recon or employ any strategy at all. Within minutes after mission start, both sides lose around a dozen profiles. Within 30 minutes the entire picture of the war has totally changed and most areas are completely empty because all the soldiers have killed each other. I use the slowest possible virtual AI speed (25%) so I know there's not really anything I can do there. Tonight I'll be messing around with the objective readiness (I have it at 100%) to see how that goes and see if it helps.