Small group play

1. 8 years ago

Hello all! I am new to the modding ALIVE scene. Going to try my hand at missions now with the release of Eden. I'm looking for some guidance. I watched I would say most of the videos on Alive and how it works. I feel confident I could make a mission.

My question revolves around typically its just me and a buddy that play. I will host a server through the arma 3 client and we will play whatever we feel like. DUWS, WLA, various missions, etc. We really enjoy the dynamic "take over the map" play those provide. I have one other friend who plays, but he hasn't joined us yet.

How can I make Alive work for us? Would you recommend smaller situations like 4-5 towns/objectives via taors? With everything you can do in ALIVE I fear taking on a whole Altis domination would be too much for just 2 of us considering all the logistics/mechanics in play. Not to mention it would kill my PC right?

What's the best way for me to host it? I've seen some people say the do TADST, and I think there's a video of how to use arma 3 server to still run the server off your PC while you run the client on the side.

I tried doing the Zargaband Alive mission that is on the workshop. In single player I was pulled down to 30fps, when I usually run at 58-60. Is that possibly a problem with that mission? I don't have that issue in other missions.

I have:
    AMD FX-8350 Black 8 core 4 GHZ
    ASUS Sabertooth 99FX R2 Motherboard
    EVGA Geforce GTX 760 4GB 256bit GDDR5 PCI express 3 card
    16GB of GSKILL DDR3 1600 RAM
    Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SATA 3 SSD

I typically run with the CPU count 8, -high, I think I give it 3gb of video ram, feed it 8gb of the RAM, etc.

I can make normal missions for us to do, but at the end of the day I would get bored because I created them. So I would know where all the bad guys are, and what to expect. That's what I like about these dynamic generators. My buddy and I can enjoy and BOTH be surprised.